family
family

Become a Foster Parent

YOU can be a Foster Parent if:

  • You are at least 21 years old
  • You receive and pass a fire safety and environmental inspection
  • You are willing to be fingerprinted and have criminal records checked
  • You complete all required training and are licensed by the State of North Carolina
  • You complete a physical examination and TB test
  • You have a working telephone
  • You have reliable transportation and are willing and able to provide necessary transportation to meet the needs of the foster child(ren)
  • Your home can provide each child with their own personal space
  • You have a stable home and income

What is Foster Care?

Foster care is a temporary living arrangement for abused, neglected, and dependent children who need a safe place to live when their parents or another relative cannot take care for them. Often their families face issues such as illness, alcohol or drug addiction, or homelessness.

 

When the county Department of Social Services (DSS) believes a child is not safe and a judge agrees, DSS takes custody of that child and finds a foster home for him or her. Length of stay in foster care varies from a few days to much longer.

 

The foster family, DSS, and the birth family work together to return children to their own homes as quickly as possible. In cases where the child becomes free for adoption, foster parents may be considered as adoptive parents.

Do Foster Parents Have to be Licensed?

Yes, North Carolina State law requires that all foster parents be licensed to care for children in their home. These licenses are issued by the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services. County Departments of Social Services and several private child-caring agencies (including Carolina Family Connections) are authorized to work with potential foster parents to assist them with the licensing process and provide supervision and support for the foster parents.

 

Potential foster parents receive 30 hours of in-service training that covers topics such as child abuse and neglect, working with birth parents, and helping foster children deal with the issues they are facing. It also helps the potential foster parents to understand how parenting another child may affect the family.

 

In addition, potential foster parents are required to obtain and maintain CPR and 1st Aid certification. To maintain your license you must have 20 hours of training per 2-year licensing period.

To find out more information on becoming a foster parent call us at 704-568-9753.

 

To access the Foster Home Application, please click here.
Once you have completed the application, please call us 704-568-9753 to schedule a time when one of our social workers can meet with you in your home.

form Foster Home Application.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [342.3 KB]

To learn more about fostering, please contact tmelton@carolinafamilyconnections.com

Carolina Family Connections
3141 Amity Court
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28215


Phone: 704-568-9753

E-mail: lclontz@carolinafamilyconnections.com

Hours: Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm

 

Print Print | Sitemap
© Carolina Family Connections | lclontzcfc@bellsouth.net